The Rockhampton Region Australia Day Awards celebrate the achievement and contribution of individuals and organisations in our Region.

These awards are an opportunity to publicly acknowledge those who have made an extraordinary contribution or are an outstanding achiever.




Rockhampton Regional Council proudly named the winners of the 2024 Australia Day Awards with a celebration held at the Rockhampton Heritage Village. 

A recording of the presentation can be found here.


Congratulations to our 2024 winners: 

Citizen of the Year - Ivan Richardson:

Ivan has been volunteering in the community for over forty years. A talented musician, Ivan has utilised his musical talents to help better the region in a variety of ways – from organising charity performances to taking on the role of president for Rockhampton Youth Orchestra Inc. Ivan is a truly inspirational individual who deserves this recognition for his years of leadership and unwavering enthusiasm.

Young Citizen of the Year – Brooke Lacey:

Brooke is recognised for her dedication to local animal rescue and to the Central Queensland Animal Society. Over the past six years, Brooke has been a stalwart for animal rescue and foster care and dedicates the majority of her time to the not-for-profit animal rescue charity and its cause.

Sportsperson of the Year – Samuel Durkin:

Sam has dedicated the majority of his life to trampolining and recently represented Australia in the World Age Group Championships in Birmingham. Here he and a fellow Queenslander won the silver medal in the 17 - 21 Years Men’s Synchronised Trampoline Event.

Sports Official of the Year – Ricky England:

Ricky has made a great contribution to the sporting culture of the region through his time with Nerimbera Football Club. Ricky’s time with the club commenced in 1986 and has included time as a player and committee member, and recently recognised with a life membership. 

Community Service Award – Malcolm and Lisa Holmes:

Malcom and Lisa are recognised for their outstanding efforts with the Hands of Compassion Foodbank, Rockhampton. The duo established the foodbank six years ago and have volunteered their time continuously since to ensure the success and continuation of this vital service. 

Community Initiative Award - Jan Davison:

Jan Davison has made a remarkable effort in helping to establish and nurture the Rockhampton Mahjong Club. Today, the club proudly stands as the largest mahjong club in Queensland, boasting a vibrant community of 105 members.

Cultural Award – Merle Cole and Vicki Cope:

Merle and Vicki are recognised for their dedication to the Rockhampton Little Theatre. As President and Vice President, Merle and Vicki help to ensure that amateur theatre continues to thrive in Rockhampton.

Certificate of Commendation – Henry Boswood:

For nearly 49 years, Henry has dedicated himself as a member of Rotary, tirelessly working behind the scenes to make a positive impact on the lives of others. Henry has also devoted himself to various projects, on a local and international scale and remains an active member of the North Rockhampton Rotary Club.

Certificate of Commendation – Rockhampton Cancer Council QLD Volunteer Branch:

The Rockhampton Cancer Council Volunteer Branch has been an integral part of our community for the last forty years. Throughout their longstanding service, this group has stood as a powerhouse in raising funds for cancer research and support– with close to $1 million raised over the lifespan of their volunteering.


A full list of nominees include:

  • Henry Boswood
  • Susan Davidson
  • Wayne and Cheryl Fall
  • Earl Harbin
  • Lisa and Malcolm Holmes
  • Louise Hayes
  • Brooke Lacey
  • James and Marion Lawler
  • Cassandra Lucas
  • Marie Mann
  • Friederike McCartney
  • Greg Rea
  • Rockhampton Cancer Council QLD Volunteer Branch
  • Dr. Rabiya Sajjad and Dr. M Shahbaz Sattar
  • Marilyn Tynan
  • CQ EV Owners and Friends Facebook Group
  • Eleanor De Jager – Home Grown Nature Play
  • Jan Davison – Founder of Mahjong Rockhampton
  • U3A Network Queensland; 2023 State Conference
  • Merle Cole and Vicki Cope
  • Jaime Ford
  • Eunyoung Lynn Byun
  • Ivan Richardson
  • Brendon Tohill
  • Maggie Allridge
  • David Barber
  • Josie Bunt
  • Samuel Durkin
  • Emmaus College Coxed Quad
  • Karen Messmer
  • Amarlie New
  • Rubie Peterson
  • Georgia Ralphs
  • Emmerson Broomhall
  • Damien Clinton
  • Ricky England
  • Lionel Harbin