New Council officially sworn in

Published on 27 March 2024


Mayor and Councillors for Rockhampton Regional Council have taken their oath of office for the 2024-2028 term during an official Swearing in Ceremony at City Hall.

Following the declaration of polls in the local government elections, Tony Williams returned to his position as Mayor of the Rockhampton Region, with Councillors Shane Latcham, Neil Fisher, Grant Mathers, Cherie Rutherford, and Drew Wickerson returning to their respective divisional seats.

Two new faces will join the Council Table with Edward Oram as Councillor for Division 4 and Marika Taylor as Councillor for Division 7. 

At Council’s Statutory Meeting, Councillor Drew Wickerson was elected as Deputy Mayor.

Mayor Tony Williams said it is a great honour to resume his position of Mayor for the Rockhampton Region.

“We have a big job ahead of us as we focus in on growing jobs and investment in our region while continuing to invest in the parks and public spaces that make our region so great,” Mayor Williams said.

“I want to congratulate our Councillors on their election and look forward to working with them over the coming term.

“I know each of them is passionate about their divisions and about seeing our region as a whole progress. There’s real opportunities ahead and I genuinely believe that the best is still to come.”

The newly elected Council will meet for the first Ordinary Council meeting on Tuesday 9 April, with Councillor portfolios discussed in the coming weeks.

Quotes attributable to the Deputy Mayor and Councillors:

Deputy Mayor and Division 6 Councillor – Drew Wickerson

“It’s a great privilege to be elected Deputy Mayor for our region.

“I look forward to working with the Mayor, Councillors, Council staff and the community over the coming term, building on our successes and striving for more.”

“There’s a lot to do and I’m eager to get to work.”

Division 1 - Shane Latcham

“I look forward to another four years of working with our Mayor and Councillors to make the Rockhampton Region a great place to live, visit and invest.”

Division 2 - Neil Fisher

“I’d like to thank the people of Division 2 for entrusting me to represent them for another four years. I am looking forward to working with Mayor and Councillors to further our growth outcomes.”

Division 3 - Grant Mathers

“I am extremely excited to be re-elected and looking forward to my second term to continue the work that’s already underway.”

Division 4 - Edward Oram

“I’m honoured to have the opportunity to help shape and guide our community over the next four years.”

Division 5 - Cherie Rutherford

“You have entrusted me to represent you, to be your voice and to work together with the Council team to ensure the good governance and prosperity of our region. I take this responsibility very seriously and hold myself accountable to you.”

Division 7 – Marika Taylor

“I look forward to advocating, listening and responding to the needs of the people of Division 7, the Rockhampton Regional Council, and the wider community.”