Resource Industry Committee

Committee Membership

Chairperson   Councillor Neil Fisher 
Membership  Margaret Strelow
   Councillor Cherie Rutherford   
   Councillor Greg Belz
   Councillor Tony Williams
   Councillor Rose Swadling
   Karla Way-McPhail, Coal Train and Chair of Capricornia Chamber of Commerce   
   Professor Scott Bowman, CQ University
   Peter Donaghy, Regional Manager Queensland Mines & Energy
   Matthew Gibb, Gibb Group
   Manager, Hastings Deering Rockhampton Branch
   Louise Ward, Secretary Gracemere Industry
   Tony Champion
   Victoria Murray, Mining Women's Support Group
   Norman Emanouel, CQ Properties
   Dennis Bryant, Regional Manager Master Builders Queensland
   Frazer Pearce, The Morning Bulletin
   Andrew Astorquia, Stockland

The following is a list of functions assigned to the Resource Industry Committee:

  • Provision of services to Bowen, Galilee and Surat Basin miners and their sub-contractors
  • Encouraging residency for miners and other workers from the Bowen and Galilee Basin coal mines

Note: The Resource Industry Committee makes recommendations to the Ordinary Council Meeting.  The Resource Industry Committee has no delegated authority.

Agendas and Minutes

2014 Agendas and Minutes

21 February 2014        Agenda(PDF, 989KB)         Minutes(PDF, 624KB)       


Copies of Council meeting agendas and minutes prior to 2014 are available via request to Council's Customer Service Centre on 1300 22 55 77 or email Please include specific details about which previous Local Government Authority, the committee (if known) and the date of the requested agendas and minutes.