2020 Australia Day Award winners announced

Published on 26 January 2020


Long serving Rotary Club member, Keith Ireland, has been awarded Citizen of the Year at the 2020 Australia Day Awards ceremony today. 

Keith has been an active member of North Rockhampton's Rotary Club since 1979 and through his love of photography, has produced the Rotary Club's annual and award winning Bird Calendar, raising an incredibleb $225,000 towards cancer research since 2010. 

Rockhampton Region Mayor Margaret Strelow presented seven Australia Day awards at a special ceremony, paying tribute to the achievements and contributions of locals within our community. 

The judging panel for the 2020 Australia Award winners included Mayor Strelow, 2019 Citizen of the Year Errol Payne, 2019 Community Initiative Award recipient Cassandra Donald and 2019 Sports Official of the Year Barbara Knowles. 

Mayor Strelow said the panel was extremely inspired and humbled by the quality of nominations and level of service and commitment the nominees contribute to our community.

"I speak to all nominees when I say, the Rockhampton Region is a wonderful place to live and it is the exceptional efforts of people like you that help make it that way. We are indebted to you for your generosity," Mayor Strelow said. 

"The selflessness, dedication and passion of our award winners is awe-inspiring, and it is an absolute pleasure to meet and personally thank our recipients today."

17 year old Thomas Jackson was also awarded Young Citizen of the year for his dedication to volunteering with school and community productions. 

The following Rockhampton Region residents were also recipients of a 2020 Australia Day Award:

Sportsperson of the Year - David Barber 

Captain of the Australian Paralympic Football team, the Pararoos. 

Judges Commendation Sportsperson of the Year - Tyson Ireland

16 year old National Muay Thai competitor who recently won Bronze at the World Championships in Turkey.

Sports Official of the Year - Susan McDonald

Australian Champion Baton Twirler and coach to Rockhampton's PCYC Baton Twirlers. 

Community Service Award - Dianne Coburn

A dedicated volunteer of the Mount Morgan community. 

Community Initiative Award - The Jolly Rogers Fishing Club

Local club dedicated to protecting and preserving the Fitzroy River.