

SPECIAL MEETING

MINUTES

1 JUNE 2020

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ITEM		SUBJECT	PAGE NO
1	OPENING		1
2	PRESENT		1
3	APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE		1
4	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST IN MATTERS ON THE AGENDA		1
5	OFFICERS' REPORTS		2
	5.1	DATE OF GAZETTED ROCKHAMPTON AGRICULTURAL SHO	
6	CLOSURE OF MEETING		3

REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MEETING HELD AT COUNCIL CHAMBERS, 232 BOLSOVER STREET, ROCKHAMPTON ON MONDAY, 1 JUNE 2020 COMMENCING AT 9.02AM

1 OPENING

2 PRESENT

Members Present:

The Mayor, Councillor M F Strelow (Chairperson)

Deputy Mayor, Councillor N K Fisher

Councillor S Latcham (via video stream)

Councillor A P Williams

Councillor C E Smith

Councillor C R Rutherford (via video stream)

Councillor M D Wickerson

Councillor D Kirkland

In Attendance:

Mr E Pardon – Chief Executive Officer

Mr D Morrison - Manager Office of the Mayor

Ms L Leeder – Senior Committee Support Officer

Attendance via video stream:

Mr R Cheesman – Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Mr P Kofod – General Manager Regional Services

Mr D Scott – Acting General Manager Community Services

Ms T Sweeney – Executive Manager Workforce and Governance

Ms A Pearce – Manager Tourism, Events and Marketing

3 APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST IN MATTERS ON THE AGENDA

5 OFFICERS' REPORTS

5.1 DATE OF GAZETTED ROCKHAMPTON AGRICULTURAL SHOW HOLIDAY FOR 2020

File No: 6097 Attachments: Nil

Authorising Officer: Ross Cheesman - Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Evan Pardon - Chief Executive Officer

Author: Damon Morrison - Manager Office of the Mayor

SUMMARY

The Chief Executive Officer is seeking approval to write to the Minister for Education and Industrial Relations asking for permission to change the gazetted Rockhampton Agricultural Show Holiday date for 2020.

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

THAT Council authorises the Chief Executive Officer to write to the Minister for Education and Industrial Relations seeking permission to postpone the gazetted Rockhampton Agricultural Show holiday date from 11 June 2020 to 14 August 2020.

Moved by: Mayor Strelow
Seconded by: Councillor Williams

MOTION CARRIED

Councillors M Strelow, T Williams, C Rutherford and D Kirkland voted for the motion. Councillors N Fisher, S Latcham, E Smith and D Wickerson recorded their vote against the motion.

Motion carried on the casting vote of the Mayor.

6 CLOSURE OF MEETING

There being no further business the meeting closed at 9:19am.

SIGNATURE

CHAIRPERSON

DATE