The Information contained in this section is extracted from the *Rockhampton Botanic Gardens* – *Botanical Collection Management Strategy.*

The establishment of Rockhampton Botanic Gardens

On 13 December 1869 the Queensland Government Gazette formally publicised the allocation of Portion No. 3, Parish of Rockhampton for the purpose of a Public Gardens and Water Supply.

The first Botanic Gardens Trust Committee was appointed in July 1871, some 18 months after the Public Gardens Reserve was gazetted. The Trust was made up of former Rockhampton mayor Robert Miller Hunter, serving and former aldermen of the Council Thomas Nobbs, Alexander Grant, Henry Jones and J. MacDonald Patterson, Commissioner for Customs W.J. Brown and prominent Rockhampton businessman John Headrick. The first Government grant payment was received by the Trust in August 1873, some of which was applied towards employing a Curator.

The Rockhampton Botanic Gardens evolved into their present day form through the individual methodologies put in place by each of the six curators that have served in that office since planting of the Gardens first commenced in 1873. As the record shows, no one curator ever tried to take away from their predecessor's work. Instead they maintained that work, using it as a legacy around which to build their own. Hence, each can be seen as being a true fundamentalist; their work being a component, a part of, or a foundation of an overall concept.